The Reading Rooms History
Northumberland is a wonderful unexplored county, one of the largest in the country and full of surprises, the fantastic long sandy beaches, the majestic countryside and vibrant cultural and social scene.
With easy access from rail, road and air there is now every reason to visit.
Originally built in 1850 as the village Reading Rooms, this was a venue for men to read the newspapers and the Bible. At a later date a snooker table was added and the establishment took on a role as a menís club where there was no gambling, no alcohol and no women!
The property was divided and became two homes sometime in the late 1960s.
The Reading Room was bought as a private house in the early part of 2006 and has undergone a major refurbishment to create a warm and welcoming three bed roomed Bed and Breakfast.
With the rooms overlooking the South Tyne or into Church Street, Gill has created a home from home environment were you can unwind and enjoy all that Northumberland has to offer.
Click here for more information on the history of Haydon Bridge.